RSS Feed

Rebellion on the Horizon?

Posted on

A hot topic on Facebook T1 parenting support groups these days is teens (ages 13 and up) lying about their bg, whether or not they tested, not giving insulin when eating carbs etc.  Got me thinking about my perfectionist, competitive now 13 year old KC.  I cannot see her doing those things…..but other parents assure me they never dreamed their obedient, model T1 would change during the teen years either….yikes!

So I decided to ask KC what she thought about teens not testing, not giving insulin and lying about all of it to their parents.  Her reaction?

 

….

 

(long pause)

 

….

 

(eye brow raised)

 

….

 

 

“That’s stupid…..just plain stupid.”

 

I probed further.  Maybe some teens don’t want to deal with D any more and are trying to deny they have it?

 

“Like not taking insulin is going to make it go away?  That’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard!”

 

Well, some teens are just rebellious.

“Why would you do something that is only going to make D worse?”  That is just stupid.  I don’t understand.”

 

You might change your mind when you are 16.

 

“What?  I’m going to become stupid when I turn 16?”  (followed by eye roll of magnificent proportion)

“Like that’s really going to happen!  Stupid, it’s just stupid because it’s stupid.”

 

Okay, folks, I’ve documented it….now to see if she sticks to it!  If not, I have the proof that she said it!

 

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

4 responses »

  1. Smart daughter you have there! Tell her she made me smile…

    Reply
  2. Sandy Zellmer

    That’s funny Robin. I hope she keeps that attitude. I read Moria’s book this past weekend. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

