RSS Feed

Wicked Awesome!

A shout out to Moira McCarthy and her latest book Raising Teens With Diabetes: A Parent’s Survival Guide.  If you don’t know who Moira is….you need to find out!  She is a d-mama, JDRF advocate, writer, blogger, and the list goes on and on.  I didn’t “meet” Moira until the 2012 World Diabetes Day Postcard exchange connected us.  Cyber mom that I am, I quickly checked her out on Facebook and messaged her.  That was a great day!  I can’t believe it has only been 6 months since that first contact….I feel like I have known her forever!  She is my go-to gal for anything teen parenting related.  She is my touchstone….

As I read the book, I found myself nodding my head, saying “yes, exactly” over and over again.  Her common sense approach to parenting a teen with Type 1 diabetes is so much more than a diabetes book.  Having been a high school teacher, long before becoming a parent, and parenting a teen before my T1 kiddo got there, I can honestly say that her style works for teens in general.  I don’t want to be a spoiler so I won’t say more….buy the book!

And while you are waiting for it to come, check out Moira’s blog Despite Diabetes.  You won’t be disappointed.

Moira McCarthy, you are ‘wicked awesome”!

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

2 responses »

  1. I tell every d-parent I know to get their hands on copies of both of Moira’s books on raising a child diabetes. Moira is a gifted writer, a mother, a mentor and most of all a wealth of knowledge about the world of diabetes.

    Reply
    • Endo offices should buy them in bulk and pass them out to newly dx’d families! I swear if people had her advice from the beginning the whole journey would be better….bless her heart!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

