RSS Feed

Bittersweet

Yesterday morning I went in to wake KC up at 8:30. Now that she’s a middle-schooler, she wants to sleep in on the weekends…which was a primary factor in her decision to use an insulin pump. She’s been running a bit low in the mornings, so I wanted to make sure she checked her BG early. As I tried to wake her, she muttered “I’m not hungry, I just want to sleep some more.” My response was firm: “We need to check your blood sugar…now!”

KC rolled over….”I already checked it at 6 am…and I took 4 glucose tabs.”

She’s 11 years old. She’s been a T1DM for 8 months. She’s been on the pump for 3 months. She’s had a CGM for 2 months.

She has a lifetime of having to check herself and respond to her CGM. And she’s already taken charge.

I was torn….proud of her for taking care of herself but sad that she has to do so. Worried that she did this on her own, but knowing that she needs to be able to do so.

She’s my baby and she’s growing up. T1DM has just made it happen earlier.

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

Leave a Reply

