RSS Feed

Diabetes Blog Week Day #1: Find A Friend

Posted on

“Great balls of fire. Don’t bother me anymore, and don’t call me sugar.” – Scarlett O’Hara in Gone With the Wind

Welcome to the 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog Week (May 14-20, 2012)! Little did I know as I was reading blogs  at this time last year, that I would join the ranks of the bloggers!   But here I am….

The first topic of the week is “Find A Friend”–it is about introducing the DOC to a new or little-known blog. As soon as I heard the topic, I knew which blog to share with you.  But before I do, here’s the backstory:

On April 26, 2011 I was up late due to KC’s high/low blood sugar (sound familiar?)  Only 4 months into managing the beast, I was searching for inspiration, enlightenment, help….I stumbled across a blog about a 10 year old girl who was diagnosed on Dec. 31, 2010.  It caught my eye because not only was that date was 11 days after KC’s dx, but KC was also 10 at her DX.  The connections continued throughout the blog.  Lucy, the T1 in the blog, was on vacation in Boone, NC for New Year’s when she got sick–one year earlier we were in Boone for New Year’s and I could envision myself in her mother’s shoes.  Then it turns out that Lucy and her family live in Richmond, Va where I lived until I was 7.  So I felt compelled to reach out and that was the start of a special friendship.  Lucy’s mom, Mary, is my go-to-girl when I need someone who understands.  Having daughters so close in age and so close to DX date give us a instant bond that has only grown stronger over the past year.

Mary and her husband, Mike, manage to bring humor to the daily struggle of dealing with Type 1.  Check out Don’t Call Me Sugar–you’ll laugh at Mike’s description of  carb counting and dinner time in “Dinner, Now a Three Ring Circus” and you’ll get teary-eyed as you read Mary’s memories of Lucy’s diagnosis.  Leave them comments encouraging them to write more!

P.S.  Mary is the one who gave me the “Keep Calm and Carry On” ornament pictured in my “Five Christmas Questions” post–she was out shopping, saw the ornament and thought of me. 🙂  It is now a treasured keepsake that reminds me of the good that has come out of KC’s diagnosis!

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

3 responses »

  1. Love your blog title!
    You’re new to me and I’m delighted to meet you.
    Oh – and I lived in Richmond for 14 years, but I was older than you. 🙂

    Reply
    • Colleen, Nice to meet you as well. I lived in Richmond from 1964 to 1970—loved it there. Been all over since then! Love to hear about adults who are doing well managing their T1!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: 2012 : Another Year Bites the Dust! « KC & Co.

Leave a Reply

