RSS Feed

Diabetes Blog Week Day# 2: One Great Thing

Posted on

Dancing Backward in High Heels

One great thing we do…hmmm…that’s a hard one! Somedays I feel like I don’t do anything well, but I am always proud of KC for the grace and dignity with which she carries herself. She is not embarrassed or ashamed by her T1; she wears her pump with pride. The one great thing she does is that she LIVES (yep, with all caps) with diabetes! She does not let the disease keep her from doing what she loves. She doesn’t let it control her life.

When she was a little girl, we saw a bronze sculpture on the sidewalk on Main Street in Blowing Rock, North Carolina. It is of a girl who appears to be dancing or leaping with  unabashed joy. That was my KC then and it is my KC now.

So I guess my one great thing is that I help her live her life to the fullest and I encourage her to do so. KC’s battle with diabetes reminds me of Ginger Rodgers–dancing as beautifully as Fred Astaire but with the handicap of dancing backward and in high heels. It’s hard but not impossible!

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

2 responses »

  1. And letting & encouraging her to do this is the very best thing you can do.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2012 : Another Year Bites the Dust! « KC & Co.

Leave a Reply

