RSS Feed

Diabetes Blog Week Day #5: What They Should Know

Posted on

If I could tell non-diabetics one thing about living with Type 1,  it would be…..

okay, I may as well admit that I can’t stop at one thing, but I’ll try to be brief…

…Type 1 diabetes is NOT the same thing as Type 2.

…it isn’t caused by poor diet and lack of exercise.

…cinnamon, licorice, and improving your gut flora will not make Type 1 diabetes go away!

…that people with diabetes don’t have to eat “sugar-free” crud.

…managing Type 1 is even harder than it looks.

…don’t tell us “I could never give injections/prick my finger/count carbs etc etc etc”.  If you had to in order to survive, then you would!

…when I tell you KC is “doing fine,” I really mean that this disease sucks but we are trying to lead normal lives in spite of it and not telling you how bad last night was is one way of coping.

…when I tell you that I only had two hours sleep last night because of her high/low blood sugar, I really mean that diabetes really sucks and today I don’t have the strength to pretend otherwise.

….when I tell you that KC is my hero and I am in awe of her, I really mean that mere words cannot reflect how amazing my 12 year old is and that I would do anything and everything I could to keep her from having to fight this battle alone.  And that I pray fervently that she WILL have a CURE in her lifetime.

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

3 responses »

  1. I am amazed at my 13 yr old son everyday as well. We have hit puberty and coming off the honeymoon period and its been a rollercoaster. He hasn’t even been to school for the last 3 weeks. I just want to fall apart some days and he holds his head up and keeps going. He calls himself unhealthy not sick lol but my heart aches for him because I’m mamma and I can’t fix it.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2012 : Another Year Bites the Dust! « KC & Co.

Leave a Reply

