RSS Feed

#HAWMC Day 9 As a Caregiver for a Child With Type 1 diabetes, what am I doing right?

Wego day 9

What am I doing right as caregiver for a child with Type 1 and one with a food allergy? What am I doing right as a mother? Some days I have no idea if I am doing anything right.

But I do know what my goals are– both as a caregiver and a parent.

First: in the words of Leighann Calentie “kid first, diabetes second.” I will not let diabetes stand in the way of my daughter’s dreams and goals.  And I will not let food allergies stand in the way of my son’s dreams and goals.

Whatever issue any child is dealing with needs the same approach as parenting in general. Which leads to my second point:  I want to give my children the tools they need to be independent, self-reliant, and an asset to society.  All kids need the 3R’s–not reading, ‘riting, and ‘rithmatic–but being Respectful, Responsible, and Resourceful.

Be respectful of others, of themselves, their own bodies, and the world.

Be responsible for themselves, their belongings, their mistakes.

Be resourceful–if they don’t know the answer to something, know where to go to find the answer.  If faced with a problem, solve it–don’t whine about it!

If my children take these lessons with them, then I have done something right!

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

Leave a Reply

