RSS Feed

#HAWMC Day 14: A Shout Out to the Best of the DOC

wego day 14

I’ve written in the past about some of the best on-line resources I’ve found in my 2 1/2 years as the mom of a PWD  which you can find here.

But today I want to give a shout out to three in particular.

Kerri Sperling’s Six Until Me was the first blog I found as I was searching the internet in the early days of KC’s diagnosis…up till all hours, passing time to the next bg check.  Kerri gives me hope for KC’s future.  A rich, full adult life is possible!

Next, I stumbled upon The Princess and The Pump.  Reading Sweets’ story and her mother’s struggles let me know that I am not alone…Her blog led me to her Facebook page and to the wonderful support of the DOC.  I learned that at 3 in the morning  some other d-mom or d-dad is also up.  Once you’ve connected with a few FB d-parents or support pages, all you have to do is post your child’s BG in the middle of the night, and someone else will chime in…

And last, but definitely not least,  are Moira McCarthy Stanford and her daughter (and my Gamma Phi Beta sister!) Lauren the forces behind Despite Diabetes.  World Diabetes Day and the WDD Postcard exchange connected me to Moira.  She was my postcard pal this past year. After receiving her name, I did a quick Facebook search and there she was!  I treasure her wisdom and wit more than words can say.

Thanks to these amazing women of all ages and stages of the T1 journey!

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for the tips. Kerri is great. Heard Moira speak and she is great as well. For a kids perspective on diabetes check out and like on Facebook “Kitty’s Kool Kats”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

