RSS Feed

#HAWMC Day 15 Can We Motivate the World With Happiness?

wego day 15

The always wonderful, wise, and witty Moira McCarthy Stanford hit it out of the park again.  Hopefully, you remember Moira from my shout out yesterday.  I didn’t plan on using one of her posts for today’s challenge, which is to comment on a blog post and ping back to that post.  But a funny thing happened on my way to write this response.  I was going through a list of d-blogs and checking each of them out.  I skipped Moira’s because I was trying to be an equal opportunity promoter.  Then up on Facebook popped her link to her most recent post “Can We Motivate the World With Happiness? (The One Where I Refuse To Be Sad All The Time)

First off, I am a crier by nature.  My mom always said “you cry at the blessing!”  And I do.  And at kindergarten performances even when I don’t know a single kid.  At every program my children have ever performed in.  At graduations.  At talent shows.  At pep rallies.  And yes, of course, at Hallmark commericals.

I cry when I’m sad.  I cry when I’m angry.  I cry when I’m happy.

My daughter recently created a video for a contest.  The theme is  Faith Hope & Love  KC wouldn’t let me watch the video with her because she said  “Mom, you will definitely cry!’  She is not a crier.  She lives life to the fullest–wrenching each moment from her days.  She is positive and hopeful.  Diabetes doesn’t  get her down.  Yes, the daily management is annoying.  Yes, it stinks to be high or low.  But LIFE is wonderful!  Like Moira’s daughter, Lauren, KC doesn’t really want to reach people out of sadness  and as you watch the video you will see smiles….lots and lots of smiles!  And HOPE!

But I did cry, and laugh, and smile.  And this morning, a non-d mom friend who is part of our JDRF walk team saw the video for the first time.  Her words:  “What a wonderful message and I especially enjoyed the smiles, even with all the struggles. Beautiful. Can we forward it to our friends when we ask for donations?”  So Moira you are absolutely right….we can motivate with smiles.

And KC is in the process of making another video to share with her classmates which shows just how much fun a JDRF walk can be.

….but I will probably still cry when I see it….tears of joy

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

4 responses »

  1. Tears of joy are so motivational. I totally get wanting and needing people to GET IT because this life is hard … but we can show them HEROICS in a happy way. thanks for the support!

    Reply
  2. Love Moira’s post..thanks for highlighting it! And so awesome about your daughter..the things we learn from our kids, right? 🙂

    Reply
    • My daughter is one of my heroes for sure! Thanks for sharing my blog on yours. We have something in common…I was on the evil Clomid as well! I had two miscarriages before #1 son was born in 1997. After the miscarriages, my OB put me on Clomid while also treating reasons for miscarriage. Turns out that Clomid worked as birth control for me…I was on for 9 months without getting pregnant. With my miscarriages I was pregnant as soon as I tried! The month I stopped Clomid I was pregnant again. Turns out that Clomid was originally developed as birth control…when tested on rabbits it kept them from getting pregnant, but when humans tried it, the reverse happened. I guess that makes me a rabbit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

