RSS Feed

Diabetes Blog Week 2013 Day 1 Share and Don’t Share

Posted on

Our Endo and Diabetes Clinic team are so supportive.  I appreciate that they talk directly to KC and spend time getting to know her beyond her disease.  We share all kinds of things with them…especially her successes-everything from being elected Student Council treasurer to science fair awards to volleyball MVP.  I know her Endo is proud of her hard work at maintaining an a1c that has averaged 6.5 for almost two straight years, but I also want them to know that she does that while excelling at life, as well.  So we do share!

What don’t we share…the days when veggies are forgotten!  So glad they only ask  for a three day food log!  We also don’t share the rare times when she has forgotten to bolus for a meal!  Or that we may or may not have followed FDA guidelines regarding the number of days a cgm sensor may be used….”yeah, site changes are every three days…that’s right….”  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

But overall, we share and share and share…and are so grateful that they take the time to listen!

About kcandcompany

Mother of two...one with food allergy and one with Type 1 diabetes.

7 responses »

  1. It’s a tricky balance to know what to share and what to play close to the vest. It sounds like you’re doing great, and that A1c is phenomenal! I’m like you, by the way. One child with multiple food allergies (and periodic fever syndrome) and another with T1D. I also have a third child with no special dietary needs, beyond being a picky eater, and I sometimes think he’s the highest maintenance of all! 😀

    Reply
  2. Sounds like you’ve found a wonderful care team. And I’m glad I’m not the only one who has some indiscretions I’d rather not share. 🙂

    Reply
  3. So nice to hear that you seem to have a really positive and rewarding relationship with your care team! Looking forward to reading more throughout D-Blog Week 🙂

    Reply
  4. Wow, that is awesome that KC’s A1C is 6.5 and she’s a pre-teen. I remember when I was growing up that my doctor’s were fine as long as my A1C was under 8 but that also created some bad habits that I’m dealing with today to get my A1C just below 7. I don’t think you should worry at all about your indiscretions because with an A1C of 6.5 you must be doing something right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

